Long story short, we moved into this house in April 2012 and had so much renovation work to do that we only managed to get around to decorating Miss E’s bedroom in the last few weeks.

As she turned two at the end of January this year, and has been out of nappies since the end of last year, we thought what better time to make the transition from cot to big girl bed than when she has a newly decorated big girl bedroom to move into.

When thinking about how to decorate her new room, I wanted something that wasn’t too babyish but also not too grown up… Something she could live in and enjoy for a few years. I wanted it to be bright & cheerful, super pretty and hopefully a little bit magical. Miss E loves the outdoors and nature so I wanted to try and recreate some of this in her special space.

I saw the most amazing wallpaper a while ago, designed by Quentin Blake for Osborne & Little… and have had it stored in my ‘for later’ bank ever since. Because the pattern is so bold, to paper just one wall was perfect {didn’t want to traumatise the poor girl by inducing trippy nightmares}.

20130524-194803.jpg

For the other walls I settled on Dulux Blue Reflection {an endurance paint that is washable… hopefully we won’t need to put this to the test, although I’m sure at some point we most probably will!} and on the largest wall, painted Silver Birches in undercoat for a matt finish.

20130524-192407.jpg

To pick out the colours from the wallpaper, I bought a bright pink light shade from Ikea, and a set of three honeycomb paper balls from Papermash.

20130524-200905.jpg

We had the purple curtains already, so to tie them in with the new scheme, I simply added the bright pink bands across the bottom. The Mr knocked out the hideous built in wardrobes and {along with chippy mate} built in some new mirrored sliding wardrobe doors and recessed shelving so I also painted the inside of the four recess shelves in each of the four accent colours.

20130524-191933.jpg

For finishing touches, I used bits of the wallpaper off cuts to make some bunting to hang over the mirrored wardrobe and my incredibly talented and creative sister-in-law made Miss E some beautiful paper bird boxes.

20130524-195951.jpg

The little bit of magic, was injected via the fairy door. A dolls house door, glossed and personalised with house number and tiny door knob!

20130523-214328.jpg

I have spent hours in the woods looking for fairy doors with my amazing little girl… What could be more magical than her very own portal to fairyland. But remember Lil Miss, the fairies only come out when you’re sleeping… and they sprinkle their fairy dust all around you and your big girl bed to make sure all your dreams are the sweetest they can be.

